Scottish Football News & VIEWS

Photo: © Photo London UK

All Scottish Football Articles Covering the SPFL, National Team & History

A History Of Scottish Football

Scotland was one of the earliest footballing nations, with Glasgow club Queen’s Park early leaders of the game. More clubs developed in Scotland, causing the beginning of the first major competitors in 1873, the Scottish Cup, after that the founding of the Scottish Football League in 1890. With the official approving of expertise, the Old Firm of Rangers and also Celtic became dominant in Scotland, although other clubs have enjoyed success during certain periods.

The Scottish Cup

Although it is the 2nd oldest tournament in association football history, after the FA Cup, the Scottish Cup trophy is the oldest in association football and is likewise the oldest nationwide trophy on the planet. It was first presented to Queen’s Park, who won the final match of the inaugural competition in March 1874

League Championship

A Scottish football league system was first developed in 1890, when the Scottish Football League (SFL) was formed. Typically the league had a 2 divisional structure (Divisions One and Two) in between which clubs were promoted and relegated at the end of each season. By the mid-1970s, this organisation was perceived to be stagnant, and it was decided to split into a three divisional structure: Premier Division (previously Division One), First Division (previously Division Two) and a recently added Second Division. This system entered into force for the 1975– 76 season. This setup continued up until the 1994– 95 season, when a four divisional structure was presented, together with a new Third Division, with all four departments including ten clubs.

The League Cup

The Scottish League Cup is a football competition available to all Scottish Professional Football League (SPFL) clubs. Initially held in 1946– 47, it is the oldest nationwide League Cup in existence. The competition had a straight knockout format however became a group and knockout competition from 2016– 17.